The Defaulters Medal

Flag_of_Belgium_(civil)This medal was instituted on 12 February 1951 and could be awarded on either of three ribbons, depending on the type of defaulting the recipient had performed during the war.

In general the medal was awarded to those who refused forced labour or military service, ordered by the German occupant.

A green ribbon with yellow stripes indicate the recipient refused to perform military duties for the enemy, a green ribbon with white stripes was given to those who refused to do work for the Germans and a green ribbon with red stripes was awarded to those who, having been deported to Germany for forced labour and having returned on leave, refused to go back (before 6 June 1944, day of the Normandy invasion).

rsz_bemedal1 rsz_bemedal2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s